June 14 at 9:18pm

2017 Board of Directors Slate – We Need Your Vote!

Dear Faith Center Member of Interfaith Community Services:
A vital role of your membership in Interfaith is electing our Board of Directors.  Our bylaws call for this annual election to occur at the June General Membership Meeting, which will be next week on Wednesday, June 21, 11:30am – 1:00pm at our Betty & Melvin Cohn Center headquarters in Escondido (550 W Washington).
The board slate listed below will be presented for General Membership vote and approval.  Member faith centers may vote in person at the meeting or via proxy. Additional nominations may be made by the General Membership by contacting Interfaith Executive Director Greg Anglea or by reaching out to me directly. Nominations can also be made from the floor during the General Membership Meeting.
We look forward to your participation in this important aspect of your membership at Interfaith.  We also have a great General Membership Meeting planned, with updates on the Recovery & Wellness Center, the faith-based academy, and Hope in Housing fundraiser.
Please note your attendance is extremely important we must have a quorum in order to vote.
The Interfaith Community Services Board of Directors presents the following board slate for vote and approval of the General Membership:

New Board Members:

John Byers: John is the Chief Information Officer of Nordson Corporation and holds a BSME from Purdue University as well as an MBA from Indiana University Kelley School of Business.  John has lived in San Diego County since 2005 after moving from Ohio.  During his career, John has held various engineering positions, managed the supply chain, run the Nordson ASYMTEK division in Carlsbad and most recently is responsible for the global Information Systems team for Nordson Corporation. John, and his wife Sharon, are proud parents of two boys currently attending college and are members of North Coast Church.

Diana Van Duzer: Diana earned her Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Emeritus, MSW and BS in Psychology and is a member of the Village Community Presbyterian USA Church, serving in the choir and the Missions Commission and is a Deacon. She served as Executive Director of Northwest Assistance Ministries, a coalition of Houston area congregations that created an organization with food pantry services, job bank, clothing and counseling for low income folks in the community. An avid community supporter of social issues, Diana volunteers for a variety of philanthropic groups throughout North County. Diana lives in Rancho Santa Fe with her husband.

Continuing Board Members up for Re-Election:

Laurie Burt: Laurie Burt earned her degree in English from the University of Utah and went on to become a high school teacher. An avid community activist, she serves as the Humanitarian Specialist for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and regularly volunteers with Interfaith Community Services.

Gene Evenskaas: A retired senior officer of Bank of America, Gene was employed in the bank’s capital markets division for more than 30 years. For the past eleven years, Gene has served as an Intermittent Advisor for the US Treasury’s Office of Technical Assistance and has provided advice on fiscal and monetary policy to Ministries of Finance and Central Banks of 12 less developed countries. Prior to this role, he was the President, CEO and Founding Partner of Diablo Capital Funding LLC and the Managing Director of both Core Securities and Global Capital Markets Group. Gene earned his B.A. from Carroll College and is a PMD Graduate of Harvard Business School.

Gary Luoto: Gary is a Navy veteran, former Investment advisor, and retired commercial lender. He has resided in San Diego County since graduating from the US Naval Academy in 1972 and has served in many community organizations, coaching youth soccer and baseball and holding positions on several boards, including the San Dieguito Boys and Girls Club, Little League, and San Diego Chapter of the US Naval Academy Alumni Association. He serves Interfaith out of passion for our country and belief in the mission of Interfaith.

Manny Martinez: Manny has been in business for 38 years as a Chartered Financial Consultant and has been an integral part of Interfaith Community Services for more than 20 years.  He helped develop Interfaith’s initial endowment fund, has offered continual financial guidance, and served as a Planned Giving Advisor to establish legacy gifts to benefit Interfaith’s mission.  Manny is a tireless advocate for Interfaith Community Services.  He has been happily married for 42 years.

Executive Board Officers:

Chair: Rev. Meg Decker: The Reverend Meg Decker was ordained to the priesthood of the Episcopal Church in November of 1990. From the Diocese of Nevada, most of her time as a priest has been at Trinity Episcopal Church in Escondido, a founding congregation of Interfaith Community Services. Meg’s passions are for intergenerational ministries and faith formation in children, and for the place of creativity in any ministry. She has one daughter, Emily.

Vice-Chair: Gary Luoto: See bio above

Immediate Past-Chair: Silas Harrington:  Silas is licensed to practice law in California and Washington State and maintains a law office in Escondido focused on tax controversy, estate planning and business formation and planning. Silas is an active member of Community Lutheran Church in Escondido, California and appreciates the opportunity to apply his skills to maintain and build his local community.

Treasurer: Gene Evenskaas: See bio above

Secretary: Jeff Vistica: Jeff is Managing Member of Gradney & Vistica Financial Management, a wealth advisory firm located in Carlsbad.  His firm provides comprehensive wealth management planning to families, corporations and not-for-profit organizations. Jeff and his firm are founding members of the BAM Alliance, a nationwide community of advisors, providing investors an alternative to the typical Wall Street approach. Jeff is a graduate of Loyola Marymount University and lives in Cardiff with his wife, Lily.

New and continuing board members will be elected to three-year terms.  Terms will begin at the Interfaith Annual Meeting on September 27, 2017.

With great appreciation,
Kate McKone-Sweet, Governance Committee Chair